Search Commences for College of Medicine Dean

Ohio State has launched a national search for a dean for the College of Medicine. The search committee was charged on Dec. 19, 2019. A listening session was held on Jan. 22 for the university community. Feedback gathered will be used to fully refine and clarify a leadership profile. This session was facilitated by the consultants from the search firm engaged to assist with the search.

As chief academic officer of The Ohio State University College of Medicine, the dean is responsible for advancing and integrating the college’s research, teaching and patient care mission. The dean’s vision must align with the strategic plans of the Wexner Medical Center and The Ohio State University.

Updated Feb. 6, 2020

Search Firm

We have engaged a professional search firm, Phillips DiPisa, an AMN Healthcare company, to assist with the search. Input from our faculty, staff and students will be a critical component of this process.

Please send nominations or questions to:

Ira Isaacson, MD, MBA
Anne Neubauer
Bernard Godley, MD, PhD, MBA

Search Committee Members


Chair: William Farrar, MD

CEO of Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute

Read more


Vice Chair: Rama Mallampalli, MD

Chair of Internal Medicine, College of Medicine

Read more


John Barnard, MD

Chair of Pediatrics, Nationwide Children’s Hospital

Read more


Quinn Capers, MD

Vice Dean for Faculty Affairs, College of Medicine

Read more


Isabelle Deschênes, PhD

Chair of Physiology and Cell Biology, College of Medicine

Read more


Dorota Grejner-Brzezinska, PhD

Associate Dean for Research, College of Engineering

Read more


Rebecca Jackson, MD

Associate Dean for Clinical Research, College of Medicine

Read more


Janice Kiecolt-Glaser, PhD

Director, Institute for Behavioral Medicine Research

Read more


Cathann Kress, PhD

Dean, College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences

Read more


David McQuaid, RPh, MBA

Chief Operating Officer, Wexner Medical Center

Read more


Bernadette Melnyk, PhD, APRN-CNP

Dean, College of Nursing

Read more


Peter Mohler, PhD

Vice Dean for Research, College of Medicine

Read more


J. Nwando Olayiwola, MD, MPH

Chair of Family Medicine, College of Medicine

Read more


Melanie Russell

Third-Year Medical Student, College of Medicine

Read more


Minka Schofield, MD

Chief of Staff, University Hospitals Medical Staff

Read more