Meet Ohio State’s team of emergency medicine experts

The Department of Emergency Medicine has a diverse faculty of over 40 physicians who engage in clinical practice, resident, medical student and allied professional education, as well as scholarly and research activities. Over half of our faculty are clinical educator faculty and are committed to education at a variety of levels. This includes education and teaching at the medical student level in our College of Medicine, residency and fellowship education and faculty development.

Chair

Mark Angelos

Mark Angelos, MD

Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine

Vice Chairs

Daniel Martin

Daniel Martin, MD, MBA

Vice Chair for Education

Emergency Medicine/Internal Medicine Residency Program Director
Professor
Daniel.Martin@osumc.edu

 

View my bio

Jeffrey-Caterino

Jeffrey Caterino, MD, MPH

Vice Chair of Research

Director, Research Fellowship
Professor
Jeffrey.Caterino@osumc.edu

 

View my bio

Diane-Gorgas

Diane Gorgas, MD

Vice Chair of Academic Affairs

Eric Adkins

Eric Adkins, MD, MSc

Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs

Associate Professor
Eric.Adkins@osumc.edu

 

View my bio

Medical Directors

Mark Conroy

Mark Conroy, MD

Medical Director, Main Campus ED

Assistant Professor
Mark.Conroy@osumc.edu

 

View my bio

Michael Dick

Michael Dick, MD

Medical Director, OSU East Campus ED

Phillip Dixon MD

Phillip Dixon, MD

Assistant Medical Director, OSU Main Campus ED

Assistant Professor
Phillip.Dixon@osumc.edu

 

View my bio

Michael Purcell

Michael Purcell, MD

Medical Director, Oncology Pod

Assistant Professor
Michael.Purcell@osumc.edu

 

View my bio

photonotavailabledr

Farhad Aziz, MD

Medical Director, Observation Unit

Assistant Professor
Farhad.Aziz@osumc.edu

 

View my bio

Daniel Bachmann

Daniel Bachmann, MD

Medical Director, Hyperbaric Medicine

Associate Professor
Daniel.Bachmann@osumc.edu

 

View my bio

Ashely Larrimore

Ashley Larrimore, MD

Medical Director, OSU Center for EMS

Sondra Shellman

Sondra Shellman, MD

Assistant Medical Director, OSU East Campus ED

Associate Professor
Sondra.Shellman@osumc.edu

 

View my bio

Andrew Gathof

Andrew Gathof, MD

Assistant Medical Director, OSU East Campus ED

Assistant Professor
Andrew.Gathof@osumc.edu

 

View my bio

Residency

Sorabh Khandelwal

Sorabh Khandelwal, MD

EM Residency Director

Choosing the right emergency medicine training program is one of the most important decisions you will make. Our program offers a comprehensive education within a nurturing environment. Through our resident selection process, we look for highly motivated candidates who will become leaders in emergency medicine.


Hear more from Dr. Khandelwal

Andrew-King

Andrew King, MD

EM Assistant Residency Director

Assistant Professor


View my bio

Geremiha Emerson

Geremiha Emerson, MD

EM Assistant Residency Director

Assistant Professor


View my bio

Simiao Li-Sauerwine

Simiao Li-Sauerwine, MD

EM Assistant Residency Director

Assistant Professor


View my bio

Medical Student Education

Cynthia Leung

Cynthia Leung, MD, PhD

ATEM Director

Assistant Professor


View my bio

Christopher_SanMiguelMD

Christopher San Miguel, MD

MED 4 Clerkship Director (AMHBC-EM)

Assistant Professor


View my bio

photo-not-available-dr

Benjamin Ostro, MD

Med 3 Clerkship Director

Assistant Professor


View my bio

Chief Residents

McGrath_Ryan

Ryan McGrath, MD

Chief Resident PGY3

Undergraduate: Wake Forest University, Health and Excercise Science
Medical School: Georgetown University
Ryan.McGrath@osumc.edu
Nassel_Michelle

Michelle Nassal, MD

Chief Resident PGY3

Undergraduate: University of California, San Diego, Biochemistry
Medical School: 
Case Western Reserve University
Michelle.Nassal@osumc.edu
Onders_Bridget

Bridget Onders, MD

Chief Resident PGY3

Undergraduate: Purdue University, Neurobiology
Medical School: 
University of Toledo
Bridget.Onders@osumc.edu
Sharkey-Toppen_Travis

Travis Sharkey-Toppen, MD

Chief Resident PGY3

Undergraduate: The Ohio State University, Computer Science
Medical School: The Ohio State University
Travis.Sharkey-Toppen@osumc.edu

Nationwide Children's Emergency Services Team

Nationwide Children's Hospital houses a comprehensive emergency services team, including physicians and nurse practitioners.

View team