Meet Ohio State's team of cardiac surgery experts

The Division of Cardiac Surgery comprises a comprehensive team of surgeons and staff, all focused on delivering high-quality patient care, contributing to innovations in medicine and educating medical students and postgraduate trainees.

Our Leaders

Our leaders


Nahush Mokadam

Director, Division of Cardiac Surgery

Nahush Mokadam, MD, is the director of the Division of Cardiac Surgery. He holds the Gerard S. Kakos, MD, and Thomas E. Williams Jr., MD, PhD, Professorship. Dr. Mokadam is an international leader in heart failure who specializes in heart transplants and ventricular assist devices.

Whitson Bryan 720x840

Bryan Whitson, MD, PhD

Dr. Whitson is Director, Thoracic Transplantation and Mechanical Circulatory Support for the Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center. He is also Co-Director of the COPPER Laboratory. Dr. Whitson is a cardiothoracic surgeon and associate professor of surgery. 


Mark Galantowicz, MD

Chief, Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery, Nationwide Children's Hospital

Professor of Surgery
Murray D. Lincoln Endowed Chair in Cardiothoracic Surgery

View my bio

Our Faculty

Photo Not Available

Haichang Li, PhD

Research Assistant Professor
Bryan Whitson

Bryan Whitson, MD, PhD

Associate Professor, Surgery Co-Director, COPPER Lab Director, Thoracic Transplantation and Mechanical Circulatory Support

Thomas Williams Jr., MD, PhD

Associate Professor-Practice
Emeritus Faculty

Emeritus Faculty

Thomas E. Williams, Jr., MD, PhD Clinical Associate Professor of Surgery

BA: Princeton University, Princeton, NJ, 1957
MS, MD: The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH, 1963
PhD: Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, 1969
Current Cardiothoracic Surgery Fellows

Current Cardiothoracic Surgery Fellows

Madonna Lee, MD Second-year fellow

MD: Michigan State University College of Medicine
Surgery Residency: Rutgers- Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Appointment: 2017

Daniel Mansour, MD Second-year fellow

MD: Howard University College of Medicine
Surgery Residency: University of Maryland
Appointment: 2017

Matthew Goodwin, MD, MS First-year fellow

MD: American University of the Caribbean School of Medicine
Surgery Residency: University of Toledo
Appointment: 2018

Jennifer Nishimura, MD First-year fellow

MD: Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
Surgery Residency: University of California- Irvine
Appointment: 2018

Administrative Staff

Mary Treon
Administrator, Division of Cardiac Surgery    

Corey Ferguson
Residency Coordinator

Shelley Keith
Dr. Whitson: 614-685-5695
Dr. Lee: 614-293-4558

Jonda Thomas
Dr. Rushing: 614-293-9327
Dr. Shukrallah: 614-293-9669       

Kay Yee

Structured Heart Disease Program/TAVR scheduling