Illustration of rainbow hands reaching upDiversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

MI&I is committed to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) to encourage and sustain an inclusive learning and working environment. We embrace and respect unique backgrounds, perspectives, ideas, and experiences. The guiding principle of our DEI and Academic Missions is that diversity, equity, and inclusion drive innovation, collaboration, and a thriving scientific community. Our goal is to promote an academically enriching climate that ensures members of the MI&I community have an understanding of the DEI initiatives, resources, and educational opportunities available to them and to provide a safe place where we can celebrate our diversity, respond to bias, and learn more about allyship.

Below are links to campus resources you may find useful:

Americans with Disabilities Act Coordinator's Office
Bias Assessment and Response Team (BART)
Center for Ethics and Human Values 
College of Medicine, Diversity and Inclusion
Counseling and Consultation Services
Diversity Initiatives 
LGBTQ at Ohio State
Office for Disability Services
Office of Student Life, Multicultural Center
Office of Diversity and Inclusion
Office of Military and Veterans Services
Office of Student Life, Younkin Success Center
Student Wellness Center
The Women’s Place
Title IX, Office of Institutional Equity

Luanne Hall-Stoodley, PhD
Associate Professor
Vice Chair of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
Microbial Infection and Immunity

DEI Mission Statement: 

The Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee (DEI) is a group of faculty, staff, and student dedicated to developing and sustaining an inclusive environment by embracing and respecting unique backgrounds, perspectives, ideas, and experiences. We will provide leadership to promote an academically enriching climate that supports fairness, impartiality, accessibility, and offers equal opportunities in our MI&I community. Our mission is guided by the principle that diversification, equity, and inclusion are key drivers of innovation, progress, productive scientific collaborations, and a thriving community. 

DEI Committee Members:

Vice Chair for DEI, Luanne Hall-Stoodley

Committee Planning Chairs:
Amy Kennedy
Michael Root
Anice Sabag-Daigle
Eugene Oltz
Amal Amer
Rachel Brown
Kasia Danis-Wlodarczyk
Rajendar Deora
Mostafa Eltobgy
Matthew Estrada
Hazem Ghoneim
Emily Hemann
Murugesan Rajaram
Richard Robinson
Oscar Rosas Mejia
Medhat Shamseldin
Rajni Shukla
Elizabeth Whetstone 
Amir Yousif


Share this page