Division of Transplantation Surgery team

Our specialists at the Ohio State Comprehensive Transplant Center are experts in their fields, leading the country with advanced care, progressive research and innovative education. Read more about these leaders.

Our Leaders and Doctors

Our leaders


Kenneth Washburn, MD

Executive Director, Comprehensive Transplant Center; Director, Division of Transplantation Surgery


Laura Stillion

Director, Transplant Services, Comprehensive Transplant Center

Whitson Bryan 720x840

Bryan Whitson, MD, PhD

Director, Thoracic Transplantation and Mechanical Circulatory Support


Ayesha Hasan, MD

Medical Director, Heart Transplant Program

Nunley David 720x840

David Nunley, MD

Medical Director, Lung Transplant Program

Hanje James 720x840

James Hanje, MD

Director, Division of Hepatology; Program Director, Transplant Hepatology


Anthony Michaels, MD

Medical Director, Liver Transplant Program


Todd Pesavento, MD

Medical Director, Kidney and Pancreas Transplantation; Deputy Director of Medical Services, Comprehensive Transplant Center


Amer Rajab, MD, PhD

Surgical Director, Renal Transplantation; Director, Pancreas and Islet Transplantation