• BrainSpineExtSlider
  • JamesCancerHospitalSlider

We combine academic excellence and advanced surgical expertise with collaborative, patient-centered care.

The Department of Neurological Surgery at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center is led by world-class leaders in academic research, education and medicine. Our multidisciplinary teams pioneer therapies on every neurological front, such as stroke, neuromodulation, endoscopic skull base approaches, spinal cord and brain implants and other complex operations. 

Ohio State's Neurosurgery residency program, fellowships and education programs provide countless opportunities for collaborative and focused learning at every level — including seminars, lectures and journal clubs. As part of Ohio State's Neurological Institute, we train tomorrow’s leaders and advance neurological medicine with a collaborative, cross-disciplinary approach.

Ohio State ranks among the nation's top 10 public research universities. Areas of neurosurgical study include stroke, brain tumors, skull base approaches, functional neurosurgery and spinal dynamics.

Schedule an Appointment


Subspecialties and Clinical Centers

Subspecialties and Clinical Centers

Peripheral Nerve This multidisciplinary subspecialty includes treatment of peripheral nerve conditions, including carpal tunnel syndrome, ulnar nerve entrapment and traumatic nerve injuries.

Our Surgeons


Ohio State’s leadership team includes outstanding faculty and administrative staff in Neurological Surgery, Neuroscience and Neurology. Our multidisciplinary team fosters cooperation and collaboration among an array of highly skilled surgeons, scientists and specialists. We share information, resources and support, working together for excellence in research, education and clinical care.

Learn more

Our History

Since the early 1930s, a number of nationally acclaimed leaders have directed our department goals while making important contributions in neurosurgery, neurology, neuroscience, psychiatry and related fields. The scholarly and inspirational work of Dwight M. Palmer, MD; Harry E. LeFever, MD; and Dr. William E. Hunt — set the stage for innovation as the focus and span of our department evolved. Our legacy of leadership continues to elevate standards for academic neurosurgical research, education and medicine.

Share this Page