Meet Ohio State's team of human genetics experts

The Division of Human Genetics comprises a comprehensive team of doctors and staff, all focused on delivering high quality patient care, contributing to innovations in medicine and educating medical students and postgraduate trainees.

Our Leaders

Our leaders

Ray Hershberger

Ray Hershberger, MD

Director, Division of Human Genetics

Professor, Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

View my bio

Allain Leaders

Dawn C. Allain, MS, LGC

Program Director, Genetic Counseling Graduate Program

Associate Professor, Division of Human Genetics
Department of Internal Medicine

View my bio

Our Doctors

Our Researchers

Licensed Genetics Counselors

Research Staff

Research Staff

Esther Barlow Clinical Research Manager

460 W. 12th Ave.
Room 336
Columbus, OH 43210
Phone: 614-688-9815/688-1381
Esther.Barlow@osumc.edu

Jason Cowan, PhD Post Doctoral Researcher

460 W. 12th Ave.
Room 350
Columbus, OH 43210
Phone: 614-292-8036/688-1381
Jason.Cowan@osumc.edu

Ilene Lattimer, RN, OCN, CCRC Clinical Research Specialist, Clinical Cancer Genetics Program

Comprehensive Cancer Center
2012 Kenny Road
Columbus, OH 43221

Phone: 614-293-6694
Toll free: 1-888-329-1654
Fax: 614-293-2314
Pager: 614-346-5207
Ilene.Lattimer@osumc.edu

Specialty interests: Cancer genetics research, community and professional cancer prevention programs

Research interests: Ms. Lattimer assists in coordinating several cancer genetics studies, including:

  • Screening colorectal and endometrial cancer patients for Lynch syndrome
  • The American Founder Mutation (MSH2, exon 1-6 deletion) as a cause of Lynch syndrome
  • The etiology of MSI-negative familial colorectal cancers, PMS2-associated Lynch Syndrome
  • Endocrine Neoplasia Repository – A data and biological samples repository of individuals diagnosed with thyroid cancer and other endocrine tumors, hunting for gene(s) that may play a role in familial non-medullary thyroid cancer
  • Genetic factors related to the development of squamous cell carcinoma (SCC) of the skin
  • Study aimed at determining hereditary components of chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL)
Certifications:
Certified Clinical Research Coordinator (CCRC), 2006
Ohio State registered nurse license 130-691,1974
Oncology certified nurse

Abraham Lucey Clinical Research Assistant

460 W. 12th Avenue, Room 336
Columbus, OH 43210
Abraham.Lucey@osumc.edu

Caty Palma-Escobar Clinical Research Coordinator

460 W. 12th Ave.
Room 336
Columbus, OH 43210
Phone: 614-685-8974/688-1381
Caty.Palma-Escobar@osumc.edu

Catherine Roth, MPH Clinical Research Coordinator

460 W. 12th Ave.
Room 336
Columbus, OH 43210
Phone: 614-685-9080/688-1381
Catherine.Roth@osumc.edu

Lorien Salyer Research Assistant

460 W. 12th Avenue, Room 350
Columbus, OH 43210
Phone: 614-292-8036/688-1381
Lorien.Salyer@osumc.edu

Elizabeth Solinger, BS Research Coordinator, Clinical Cancer Genetics Program

Comprehensive Cancer Center
2012 Kenny Road
Columbus, OH 43221

Phone: 614-293-6694
Toll free: 1-888-329-1654
Fax: 614-293-2314
Elizabeth.Solinger@osumc.edu

Research interests:  Ms. Solinger currently coordinates two studies for the Division of Human Genetics in area clinics. She works with Rob Pilarski to coordinate The Ohio State University Breast Cancer DNA Bank which is sponsored by the Stephanie Spielman Foundation. This study is aimed at collecting medical information and samples from breast cancer patients which are in turn used by researchers investigating the genetic aspects of breast cancer.

Ms. Solinger is also involved in accruing patients to a study that collects control samples for genetic research studies. In conjunction with Amy Sturm, the two hope to reflect the diverse Columbus area population through these control samples. Subjects are asked to complete an anonymous questionnaire regarding their family and medical histories and donate a small blood sample to participate

Education: BS in forensic chemistry, Ohio University, 2004

Carl Starkey, PhD Research Analytics Specialist

460 W. 12th Ave.
Room 336
Columbus, OH 43210
Phone: 614-685-9059/688-1381
Carl.Starkey@osumc.edu

Administrative Staff

Amy Ehrlich, MA
Division Administrator
Amy.Ehrlich@osumc.edu
614-293-7775
              Praacnaa Colestock
Program Assistant
Praacnaa.Colestock@osumc.edu
614-293-4347 
             Debra Garrett
Office Manager
Debra.Garrett@osumc.edu
614-293-1221
         
Stephanie Plotts
Office Administrative Assistant/
Assistant to Division Director
Stephanie.Plotts@osumc.edu
614-688-1388
  Kathy Krutsch
Office Associate
Kathleen.Krutsch@osumc.edu
614-293-2448


Karen Phillips
Information Associate
Karen.Phillips@osumc.edu
614-293-2891/293-2314

         
Sayuri Vonil
Support Analyst
Sayuri.Vonil@osumc.edu
614-293-3363/293-2314
  Pamela Blythe
Information Associate
Pamela.Blythe@osumc.edu
614-293-6694/293-2314

Contact

Division of Human Genetics

Amy Ehrlich
Division Administrator
Amy.Ehrlich@osumc.edu
Phone: 614-293-7775
Fax: 614-293-2314

Division’s office:
2012 Kenny Rd. Rm. 250
Columbus, OH 43221

Schedule an appointment: 614-293-6694