About the Program

The pain medicine fellowship is a 12-month program (July 1 - June 30) fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). Two positions are offered each year, providing training in acute and chronic non-malignant pain and acute and chronic cancer pain. In addition, the fellows will participate in four month-long rotations with neurology, psychiatry, palliative medicine and either physical medicine and rehabilitation (PM&R) or anesthesiology. The fellowship, under the leadership of the fellowship director, Steven Severyn, MD, MBA, offers a comprehensive and diverse opportunity to train at a world-class medical center.

This integrated, multidisciplinary pain medicine fellowship is focused at the OSU Comprehensive Spine Center. The OSU Comprehensive Spine Center is a collaborative effort involving the Departments of Orthopedics, Neurology, Anesthesiology and Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. Over 4,500 patients are evaluated annually with all surgical procedures performed at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center.

Training Sites

  • The Ohio State University Comprehensive Spine Center at CarePoint East
  • The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center
  • Ohio State East Hospital


The trainee must successfully complete a four-year accredited residency program in one of the following specialties prior to being accepted into the pain medicine fellowship:
  • Anesthesiology
  • Neurology
  • Psychiatry
  • Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Application Process

Application dates
  • Application deadline: May 31, 2018
  • Program start date: July 1, 2019
How to apply

Please apply for the Pain Medicine Fellowship via the Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS) for Applicants and register for the match with the National Resident Matching Program (NRMP).

For any additional questions, contact Taylor Stein at Taylor.Stein@osumc.edu.
Pain Medicine Fellows

Pain Medicine Fellows

Michael Pettus, MD

Pettus1 MD: The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center - Anesthesiology Residency

Lucas Davanzo, MD

MD: University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Past Fellows

2018 - 2019

Anthony Nguyen, MD

Neelay Thakkar, MD

2017 - 2018

Hisham Khan, MD

Jayesh Vallabh, MD

2016 - 2017

Daric Russell, MD

Matthew Gray, MD

2015 - 2016

Thomas Felter, MD
Daniel Verrill, MD

2014 - 2015

Tristan Weaver, MD

2013 - 2014

Maged Ghattas, MD
Eric Stewart, MD

2012 - 2013

David Anderson, MD
Residency: The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center

2012 - 2013

Dwight Mosley, MD
Residency: The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center

Share this Page