The Division of Transplantation Surgery, one of eight specialty divisions within the Department of Surgery at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center, is dedicated to delivering high quality, comprehensive and cost-effective organ transplant care.

Based on a solid foundation of basic, translational and clinical research, the division combines a busy clinical transplant program with a diverse and productive research effort within Ohio State’s Comprehensive Transplant Center (CTC).

The division has embarked on a number of collaborative, interdisciplinary endeavors to enhance both the clinical activities and the basic research efforts in transplantation:

  • Immunopharmacology
  • Immune assessment and monitoring
  • Immune engineering
  • Information systems
  • Biostatistics
  • Clinical trials
  • Public policy and ethical considerations
  • Communications and public relations

Our physicians hold leadership positions in national transplant organizations, including the United Network for Organ Sharing and the American Society of Transplant Surgeons, working to advance the science, practice and policy of organ transplantation.

Ken Washburn, MD, executive director of the Comprehensive Transplant Center and division director for transplantation surgery, provides an overview of the program’s growth, as well as Ohio State’s approach to training.

Our Latest Transplant News

Share this Page