Meet Ohio State's team of dermatology experts

The Division of Dermatology comprises a comprehensive team of doctors and staff, all focused on delivering high quality patient care, contributing to innovations in medicine and educating medical students and postgraduate trainees.

Our Leaders

Our leaders


Mark Bechtel, MD

Director, Division of Dermatology

Professor, General Dermatology

View my bio


Alisha Plotner, MD

Co-Director, Division of Dermatology

Assistant Professor, General Dermatology

View my bio


Joy Mosser-Goldfarb, MD

Director, Resident Program

Associate Professor, Pediatric Dermatology

View my bio


Jessica Kaffenberger, MD

Director, Medical Student Education

Assistant Professor, General Dermatology, Blistering Diseases, Cutaneous Lupus, Autoimmune Diseases

View my bio


Benjamin Kaffenberger, MD

Director, Dermatology Inpatient Consultation Service

Assistant Professor, Complex Medical Dermatology, General Dermatology

View my bio

Our Doctors

Our nurse practitioners and physician assistants

Ying Yang, C-NP Megan Disher, PA-C
Nurse Practitioner Physician Assistant

Our Researchers

Our Researchers

Auxiliary Faculty

Auxiliary Faculty

Part-time and Teaching Faculty

Jess DeMaria, MD

Stephanie Fabbro, MD

Esteban Fernandez-Faith, MD

Farhana Hasan, MD, MPH

Katya Harfmann, MD

Michael McKelvey, MD


Joy Mosser, MD

Novie Sroa, MD

Patricia Witman, MD

Volunteer Faculty

Brian Biernat, MD
Surgical and Cosmetic Dermatology
       Joseph Bikowski, MD
General Dermatology
Marya Cassandra, DO

General Dermatology

Adam Hessel, MD
General Dermatology and Dermatopathology
Maralyn Seavolt, MD

Surgical and Cosmetic Dermatology

Dermatology Residents

Dermatology Residents

Dathan Hamann, MD

MD: University of Arizona, College of Medicine

Justin Hastings, MD

MD: University of Toledo

Gina Spohn, MD

MD: University of California, Berkley

Catherine Ulman, MD

MD: Wright State University

Polina Rzepka, MD

MD: The Ohio State University, Columbus

Sabrina Smith, MD

MD: The Ohio State University, Columbus

Maeve Maher, MD, MPH

MD: The Ohio State University, Columbus

Nima Milani-Nejad, MD, PhD

MD: The Ohio State University, Columbus

Administrative Staff

Beth Kistler Olds, RN, BSN
Division Administrator
EPIC Nurse Analyst/Coordinator 
       Sabrina Silva
Resident and Fellow Program

       Aleitha Gates
Clinical Research Coordinator