Contact Media Relations 614-293-3737

November 7, 2011


Dr. Bryan Martin (43210), associate medical director for University Hospital, associate dean of graduate medical education, program director of allergy immunology fellowship and professor of medicine and pediatrics, has been elected a Distinguished Fellow of the American College of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology (ACAAI). Nominated for his numerous contributions and efforts to the field of allergy/immunology, Dr. Martin will receive this honor on November 4, 2011. Dr. Martin has served on many national committees including the ACAAI Board of Regents as regent and fellow-in-training representative. He has received numerous military awards and decorations for his service in the U.S. Army. A high quality photo of Dr. Bryan Martin is available here


Dr. Robert Crane (43201), clinical assistant professor of family medicine, received the 2011 Public Health Award from the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP). Dr. Crane received the Public Health Award because he has spent 14 years dedicating time to prevent teen smoking through education and tobacco control. Other public health programs he has executed and organized include offsetting the toll of HIV/AIDS and drunk driving. The AAFP is a national association of more than 100,300 family doctors. The Academy supports and sustains high quality standards for family doctors who provide health care to the public. A high quality photo of Dr. Robert Crane is available here


The 4th Floor Critical Care Unit at The Ohio State University’s Richard M. Ross Heart Hospital has received the Beacon Award for Critical Care Excellence for the second year in a row. This esteemed award recognizes the best critical care units in the nation and is granted to only a select few nursing units in the United States per year. This honor is sponsored by the American Association of Critical Care Nurses and is awarded to units that achieve the highest quality outcomes and provide exceptional care to patients and their families. Critical Care units considered for the award are evaluated based on excellence in professional practice, patient care and outcomes in six categories.