July 22, 2013

COLUMBUS, Ohio — Five nationally known medical experts have been appointed to leadership positions at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center.

“As part of our University’s efforts to move from excellence to eminence, we continue to recruit the most accomplished physicians to key leadership positions in our Medical Center,” said Dr. Steven Gabbe, chief executive officer of The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center. “I’m confident that they each will advance innovation in our research, education and patient care programs.”

These new leaders will build on the strong foundation that fosters a culture of collaboration, excellence and innovation at the Wexner Medical Center, Gabbe said.

“We are very excited to leverage the depth of clinical, educational and research experience of these new leaders. We truly are in a position to improve people’s lives and create innovative solutions to transform sick care to well care,” said Dr. Charles Lockwood, dean of The Ohio State University College of Medicine and vice president for health sciences.

Dr. John Christman has been named director of the Center for Critical Care and the Division of Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine. Christman came to Ohio State from the University of Illinois in Chicago, where he led the college of medicine's section of pulmonary, critical care and sleep medicine, and was a professor of physiology and biophysics. He also served as medical director for the center for lung and vascular biology.

Dr. Ryan Nash has been appointed to lead the Center for Bioethics. Nash has a strong background in ethics and palliative care, studying how medicine, moral philosophy and moral theology impact patients with advanced and serious illness. In addition to his leadership position in bioethics, he was appointed the Hagop S. Mekhjian, M.D., chair in medical ethics and professionalism. He also has a faculty appointment in the Department of Internal Medicine. Nash came to Ohio State from the University of Alabama at Birmingham’s Center for Palliative and Supportive Care.

Dr. Thomas Terndrup has been appointed to the chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine. As chair, Terndrup will be responsible for ensuring state-of-the-art clinical care, quality programs for the education and training of health care professionals, and cutting-edge research and scholarship. Terndrup came to Ohio State from Pennsylvania State University.

Dr. Jeffrey Newport has been named director of women’s mind-body medicine and vice chair of research for the Department of Psychiatry. Newport will lead the women’s behavioral health program that focuses on women who are pregnant, thinking about conceiving or post-partum who are struggling with mental health problems. Newport comes to Ohio State from Emory University in Atlanta.

Dr. J Philip Saul has been appointed chair of the Department of Pediatrics. Saul will oversee the clinical, teaching and academic activities of more than 400 pediatric specialists who hold joint appointments at Nationwide Children’s Hospital and Ohio State’s College of Medicine. He will also serve as associate dean for Pediatrics and Transitional Health at Ohio State’s College of Medicine. Saul is coming to Ohio State from Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston, where he is professor of Pediatrics and Regenerative Medicine & Cell Biology, director of the Children’s Heart Program of South Carolina, and senior associate dean for Children’s Health Outreach.

Saul’s appointment is effective in November, subject to approval by The Ohio State Board of Trustees, which has already approved the appointment of the other four physicians.


Contact: Alexis Shaw, Wexner Medical Center Public Affairs and Media Relations, 614-293-3737 or Alexis.Shaw2@osumc.edu

Share This Story