FischerLabImageRTFThe Fischer Lab for Molecular and Cellular Developmental and Regenerative Retinal Neurobiology at Ohio State is devoted to the understanding of molecular and cell signaling pathways that influence the ability of support cells in the retina, the Müller glia, to be reprogrammed into progenitors with the capacity to regenerate neurons. The lab, which is part of the Ohio State Neurological Institute, is particularly interested in identifying means to stimulate the formation of proliferating Müller glia-derived retinal progenitor cells. Long-term goals are to determine the precise mechanisms that enhance the neurogenic and regenerative potential of Müller glia-derived progenitor cells. Harnessing the regenerative potential of Müller glia holds the potential to treat sight-threatening diseases of the eye including age-related macular degeneration, retinitis pigmentosa and glaucoma.

 

Our Team

Our leaders

FischerAndrew

Andy Fischer, PhD

Professor, Department of Neuroscience

Dr. Fischer’s lab studies neural development, regeneration and survival. His team focuses on the development, regeneration and survival of cells in neurosensory eye tissue.

View Full Bio

Staff

Leo Volkov, BSc

Lab Manager

volkov.2@osu.edu

Ninoshka Mendonca

Undergraduate Student Assistant

mendonca.5@buckeyemail.osu.edu

Isabella Palazzo

Undergraduate Student Assistant

palazzo.7@buckeyemail.osu.edu

Colin Quinn

Undergraduate Student Assistant

quinn.342@buckeyemail.osu.edu

Natalie Squires

Undergraduate Student Assistant

squires.45@buckeyemail.osu.edu

Lilianna Suarez

Undergraduate Student Assistant

suarez.64@buckeyemail.osu.edu

Levi Todd, BSc

Graduate Student Assistant – Neuroscience Graduate Studies

todd.136@buckeyemail.osu.edu

Alumni

Our leaders

Staff

William Bishop, BSc

Medical Student, West Virginia University, 2011

Donika Gallina, PhD

Kanika Ghai, PhD

Scientific Consultant, New York, NY, 2009

Zachary Goodman, BSc

Medical Student, The Ohio State University, 2011

Ghezal Omar, MSc

Research Associate, University of Washington, 2006

Eric Ritchey, OD, PhD

Clinical Assistant Professor, University of Houston, 2011

Jennifer Stanke, PhD

Lecturer, Akron Children's Hospital, Aultman Hospital College of Nursing, Akron, Ohio, 2009

Lilia Steffenson, BSc

Medical Student, University of Cincinnati, 2012

Chris Zelinka

Graduate Student, Florida State University, 2013

Current Projects

Current Projects

Recent Publications

Recent Publications

Share this Page