Ohio State’s Neurological Institute is led by remarkable physicians and scientists.


Amanda Lucas, MEd, MBA

Executive Director of Clinical Operations, Neurological Institute
Executive Director, OSU Harding Hospital

Amanda Lucas manages operations and finances for all Neurological Institute clinical and hospital locations. She also leads efforts related to strategic growth for the Institute, both in terms of volume and reputation.


Russell Lonser, MD

Co-Director, Neurological Institute
Chair, Department of Neurological Surgery

Dr. Russell Lonser is a professor of neurological surgery. His clinical and surgical research interests are centered on the treatment of primary brain, brainstem and spinal cord tumors.

Physician Bio  Research Bio

ScharreDouglas leader

Douglas Scharre, MD

Co-Director, Neurological Institute
Interim Chair, Department of Neurology
Director, Division of Cognitive Neurology
Medical Director, Neurobehavior and Memory Disorders Clinics

Dr. Scharre conducts clinical research in dementia and mild cognitive impairment: clinical drug trials using cognitive enhancers and behavioral therapies; functional neuroimaging studies using PET, SPECT and MRI; and screening for mild cognitive impairment and early dementia diagnosis.


W. Jerry Mysiw, MD

Chair, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Ernest W. Johnson Chair, of Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Dr. Jerry Mysiw is the medical director of the Dodd Rehabilitation programs. His clinical specialty and research focus on improving patient outcomes following traumatic brain injury and spinal cord injury.

Physician Bio  Research Bio

PopovichPhillip leader image

Phillip Popovich, PhD

Chair, Department of Neuroscience
Co-Director, Neuroscience Research Institute 
Director, Center for Brain and Spinal Cord Repair

Ryan Leader Page

Eileen Ryan, DO

Interim Chair, Psychiatry and Behavioral Health
Professor and Vice Chair of Clinical Services, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Health

Dr. Eileen Ryan the Professor and Vice Chair of Clinical Services for the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Health. She is a board-certified psychiatrist in general, child and adolescent and forensic psychiatry.

Share this Page